p.u.d.c.mini

I thought tonight after I got home from working at Reverie and walking the dogs in the wind storm I would try and make portable pineapple upside down cakes, or cupcakes if you will. You know, in my spare time.

However since it starts with melted butter and brown sugar and the fact that they are upside down it’s not like I could put them in paper cups.  Also the pineapple rings are a tad bit bigger then the bottom of my large size muffin cups.

But try I did.  I think they need work and I haven’t tasted them but it certainly was fun to try.  Granted I usually make my pineapple upside down cake in a cast iron skillet and heat up the butter and sugar in the oven while I’m making the batter.  But my first attempt I ended up making caramel from overheating the butter and sugar and once it started to cool was more like toffee.  So the batter sat while I redid that portion, arranged the pineapple which works better to tear the ring and overlap it so the batter doesn’t seep below the pineapple.

I think I understand more the difficulties from making this classic into a mini and next time they will turn out better.  But for now here is a quick peek.

2 Responses to “p.u.d.c.mini”

  1. Della Says:

    Those look yummy!

  2. Vivian O'Neal Says:

    Beautiful! I wanna be a taste tester!! Mine came out a little more brown when I tried it. And, I just poured the batter into buttered, brown sugared, and pineappled… regular ol’ cupcake tins. Sounds like you need a cast iron cupcake pan. Does anybody make one? Hmm…..


Leave a Reply

