Helping Kayla Breathe

I only hope that my baking approximately 400 cupcakes on Friday night will help get this sweet looking 17-year-old closer to her double lung transplant.

Friday after I recouped from the week I set out to bake cupcakes to deliver to the farmers market on Saturday for a fund-raiser.  I told her family at the booth that I usually sell them for 50 cents but its a fund-raiser and they can do whatever they wanted.

Instead they put up a donation box and people bought one for the market or even a box and just made a donation.  I didn’t get a total but they are sure they brought in several hundred dollars.

Thank you loyal customers for donating.  I hear a few of you were concerned this booth stole my mini-cupcake idea until they heard I had donated them.  Then they bought their usual dozen for a donation of twenty bucks.  Makes me happy knowing a little batter and sugar could help out and allow others to help out as well.

The market is almost done for the year and although it has been a lot of work, it has been very rewarding and I’m gonna miss it and the people I see every week.

2 Responses to “Helping Kayla Breathe”

  1. Sara Says:

    just one more reason that you have always been one of our very favorite people in the whole world…..love you val

  2. Vivian O'Neal Says:

    The cupcakes are beautiful. And, so are you, my friend! I agree with Sara’s comment. Love ya.


Leave a Reply

