Rear-Ended

…..and not in a good way.

In my 100 minute drive home tonight, going maybe 2 miles per hour I got rear-ended.  Luckily traffic was moving so very slow that we were able to stop, get out, look, say our “you ok” “yea you ok” “you want to exchange info” “no I’m good” get back in our trucks and I had only about 3 car lengths to catch up to traffic.

It was a long drive home.  I was able to list lots and lots of things that I am thankful for.

I was thankful that it wasn’t a bigger accident.
I was thankful that I have a contract gig to be driving home from.
I was thankful that Della was already home to let out Missy.

I am thankful for my health.
I am thankful that even though un-employed I’ve been resourceful enough to get all the ends to meet.
I am thankful for my family, my friends and my sweetheart.
I am thankful for my home, a running truck and a working furnace (that would have the house toasty by the time I ever got there.)
I am thankful for the roof on my house (with a lifetime warranty)  After yesterdays rain and wind it is comforting knowing the roof is sound.

Sunday was spent in the house.  I did unlock the front door to take out the recycling but that was as far as I ventured out.  The attitude of gratitude started then while I remembered Saturdays hike, did laundry, made Halloween costumes and spent a good deal of time watching football.  Today at work that unexpectedly carried over by Katherine as she mentioned this very thing.

So tonight while driving home, in crazy, stupid, pain in my ass heavy traffic, I was just grateful, most grateful that I had filled up my gas tank on my way to work this morning.

2 Responses to “Rear-Ended”

  1. Katherine Says:

    Never was a better argument for more hiking made. 🙂

  2. Chari Hug Says:

    I am thankful for you and that you were not harmed in your rear. I mean rear end accident.


Leave a Reply

