Yoga

My four week intro to yoga completed last night.  There are drop in classes I can take, in fact I went ahead and bought another drop in pass for 10 classes.

But more than that I went ahead and signed up for another series.  This one is a six weeks, starting next week.  Mostly I signed up because of the mind/body connection and calmness I am getting from it.  This series is called the Phoenix Rising Yoga.  It is both about the yoga and poses but also the mindfulness and as a life enhancing tool.

What I have found the last few weeks is I am correcting my posture more, dropping my shoulders.  Being more mindful of my breathing.  Those may seem obvious, its part of the practice.  But the calmness I am feeling doesn’t seem like it would be such an obvious side effect.  One could argue that is has more to do with my new job.  That after nearly a year that would be contributing to the calm.  However I was feeling it before the job offer.

I live by the “everything happens for a reason” motto.  It may drive people crazy that I don’t worry (much) that I do what makes me happy today.  That I take a job that pays exactly half of what I used to make because it sounds exciting.  The yoga feels the same way to me, the studio, the lightness of it, the actual yoga practice.  So that’s what I did tonight to enrich my life even more.  I bought more yoga classes.

This spring looks fantastic from here. Chari is coming next week, I am starting a new job, I start my marathon training and I splurged on more yoga.

5 Responses to “Yoga”

  1. -br Says:

    Do what you love, the money will follow is proven to be true, I have not found the principle to apply conversely. Namasta.

  2. Vivian Says:

    I agree with br (and you). Do what you love, and love what you do.

  3. Mary Says:

    for as long as i have known you, i have always been impressed and awed by the fact that you do “live in the moment”. For the most part you do not hold useless crap inside with you. So the new job, the calmness, the yoga…….not new, just you :):):)

  4. Jody Says:

    you’re inspiring me to take up some yoga classes for myself! there is a little yoga studio around the corner from me and they have a runner’s class starting in march…will be perfect for marathon training 🙂 way to go, valria!


Leave a Reply

