Flow

Last night was the end of the Phoenix Rising yoga series.  The theme was Flow, the cycle of everything.  So with our eyes closed for 90 minutes we took in words from the instructor and moved to yoga poses without any cues, just to focus on our flow.

Part of the meditation describing flow focused on nature. The flow of seasons, the flow of the tide, the flow of birth and death.  Death….besides being struck that this last class was on the 27th anniversary of my father’s death and a mere two days away from my mom’s 21st, death isn’t what stood out for me.

I was more focused on the flow of my current flow.  Emotional flow.  Job flow.  Time flow.  Money flow.  Then back to emotional flow and how this is always such a hard and emotional time of year for me.  I did recognize a little last week when I was emotional.  But nothing like in years past when my job had me exhausted and spent by this time of the year.

This year my flow is different.  I have more time if your just calculating hours at work. But there are only 24 hours in a day and this week has had two cake orders and workouts and laundry and my actual job along with tomorrow at the contract gig.  But there still feels like more time.

Things are flowing better, or rather I am flowing better.  There is always change, a type of flow I guess.  Jobs change, relationships change, priorities change.  The one thing I am taking more time for is me, and that includes sleep.  (I know three people who might just throw a shoe at me for that last statement.)  One way I have taken more time for me is this very yoga class and I am loving it and all the growth and work behind it.

The gift of more time has its price, monetarily that is.  Its just a flow in priorities at this point and I’m going with the flow.

4 Responses to “Flow”

  1. Vivian Says:

    I love you, my (best) friend. Thank you for flowing into my life.

  2. -br Says:

    Saa Taa Naa Maa ~ infinity, life, death, rebirth

  3. Katherine Says:

    Sounds like a wonderful class. I’d like to look for something similar in my hood.

  4. canyon cottage Says:

    Oh yes. I can soo relate 🙂


Leave a Reply

