Spoons and Gratitude

A dear friend posted this link today in her blog.

There are people in my life, people I love who live with various difficulties.  These difficulties include Lupus, MS, Back Pain, Diabetes, Panic Disorder, Auto Immune disease, Arterio-Venous Malformation (AVM) and other issues.  Things that affect their lives every single moment of every single day.

Even though I have challenges in my life, there is not a lack of “spoons” and although I think I am pretty understanding of my friends individual issues.  This explanation really made me think about just how strong my friends truly are.

Instead of reposting the authors Spoon Theory I am just including a link so she can get the traffic.

3 Responses to “Spoons and Gratitude”

  1. Chari Hug Says:

    Wow, well put article on spoons. Thanks babe.

  2. Vivian Says:

    Nice.

  3. Katherine Says:

    I appreciate what Christine says in the article and it also annoys me. I do think the spoon theory is helpful in terms of understanding that what may come easily to me does not come just as easily to another. But what annoys me is that she writes it as if others don’t have their own set of spoons. I think everyone has them. It’s the human condition. No matter how it may look like another person is gliding effortlessly through life, there’s something underneath that they’re struggling with. To me, the key point in Christine’s story is that she found a way–a methodology, if you will– to help someone step into her shoes. What would bring her story full circle would be for her to tell how she was able to use the same method to understand someone else’s condition.


Leave a Reply

