Sad Diagnosis

Well there it is, in the title.  A very sad diagnosis.  The radiologists confirmed without any hesitation that the break was due to metastatic tumor.

So…………………………..

Right now I am waiting for the Dr.  In the next two days he is getting me some statistics that I can use to make a decision.  Statistics on survival based just on amputation.  Estimates on “long-term splinting” which would be every few weeks, estimates on the amputation.

He knows my top priority is to not have her suffer…..  The rest I have to figure out if it’s for her or for me.

Hard to believe this was her a few weeks ago as we headed out for a day hike with Katherine and Sophie.

And this is her now, on pain meds, splinted and hanging close.

6 Responses to “Sad Diagnosis”

  1. yashikibuta Says:

    So sorry to hear about Missy’s diagnosis. I just hope and pray that she feels better. will be following up on her progress

  2. Laura M. Says:

    Oh no. No, no. Damn. *hugs* I’m so sorry to hear it. These decisions are always rough, just do the best you can for you and your pup. 🙂

  3. Katherine Says:

    I’m so sad. No good alternatives here. I’m here when you’re ready to talk.

  4. -br Says:

    Words escape me but tears come easily, just so sad. You’ll know what’s right, you have an uncanny way of doing that, almost unnerving but always endearing it’s one of your greatest gifts.

  5. Diane Says:

    Heartbreaking news… I just want you to know that I am keeping you and Missy in my prayers.

  6. canyon cottage Says:

    OMG! I am so sorry, how heartbreaking! Keeping you and Missy in my prayers, a good vet will help make the decision to amputate a lot easier for all of you.


Leave a Reply

