Sweet Pea

The market yesterday was great.  A little cool but lots of people, lots of vendors and a modicum of complaints.

The produce looked wonderful and I had to keep reminding myself not to buy any.  I still have some left from Sunday and I’m leaving for the balance of the week and wont be home to eat any of it.

Same with flowers, each time I was offered a thank you bouquet at the end of the day I kept saying no thanks.  Then of course at the very end the volunteers had a bunch of them and asked if I wanted any.  I saw the sweet peas and said “yes” and took them out of habit.

Last year when the sweet peas were out I always chose them first as they are/were/who really knows now, Charlas favorites and I enjoyed taking them to her on our dog walks.  It was after I was walking away with them to my truck that it dawned on me that I wouldn’t be seeing her.

So for now they are on the landing, very fragrant and look sweet.  They will be dead by the time I get back Saturday night but they are cute for now.

The Sweet Peas at the dog park are just not this fragrant.  I am not sure what the difference is but these are great.  

The market is better than having a cutting garden, which Brian and I used to always talk about but never achieved.  I don’t have to do the work.  Planting, watering, deadheading, but I have a variety of fresh flowers all Summer long.  In fact to many at times as I am only a week in and already there are flowers on the landing, flowers in my room, flowers in Viv’s room and flowers on the kitchen counter.   And my garden flowers, they are all still in the garden attracting bees and looking nice out there.

Leave a Reply

