Time for an update

My niece called me tonight, wondering what I decided based on my Wednesday deadline.  So here is the most current update.

First off I had a job interview last night for a different job.  I left references to be checked when I departed and it was looking good.  But things change ya know and although I felt like I had it, it still wasn’t a sure thing.

But today I had to give an answer to the very inappropriate public offer I was given last week.  I waited until 4:45 and headed upstairs to the directors office.  I thanked him for the offer but told him I was turning it down. I told him I didn’t have another position but felt one was imminent.  We spoke for a few minutes and he told me there was negotiation room and that I was welcome to stay until I did get another position.  As I walked down the stairs he closed his door and I heard him mutter “shit”.

I logged off my computer, turned out lights and didn’t even get out of the office when the offer I wanted came through.  I got a call on my cell phone with the offer and the paperwork was being processed and HR would be calling me back to schedule the drug test and background check.

So once those are done I will have a new job, with better pay, with health benefits for the first time in a few years.  It is also closer to home and will be a very busy and very challenging job.  2014 is looking good already.

5 Responses to “Time for an update”

  1. -br Says:

    Congrats, very happy for you.

  2. Katherine Says:

    Yay!

  3. Linda Middlebrooks Says:

    YAY, YAY for you. Sad for the Seattle people.
    Sounds like 2014 WILL be a good year with challenges, and the opportunity to go to the Dr. if you should happen to get sick. Sounds like you will make more money and spend less on gas. Both winners.

  4. Dale Says:

    Sweet! So glad for you! That’s an awesome story.

  5. Albert Says:

    Hooray!!!!


Leave a Reply

