Date Night

We went on a Birthday/Date night last night.

We went to an Indian restaurant in Pasadena called Akbar.  We have been there before and when a friend of Lori’s asked her for a restaurant recommendation she gave him that one.  The ruse for the recommendation was so he could get her a gift certificate.  So we were able to dine on the gift certificate and leave with a 40 dollar balance for next time.

We had Tandori Salmon, Saffron Rice, Raita, Aloo Gob and I had a yummy glass of Molbec and Lori had the best looking Naan I have seen.  I didn’t eat any but did weigh the thought of the stomach ache if I did and the stomach ache almost won out.

We then went to a Jazz concert.  I have this app called “Bands in Town” and it alerts me to concerts of people in my music.  It links to my iTunes occasionally and then sends me notifications when someone in my music announces a concert.  This means just this week I got notices for The Dazz Band, Joan Jett, Styx, ZZTop and Esperanza Spalding.

So back to the concert, I was reading in bed last week when the notice came through on my iPad regarding the Esperanza Spalding concert.  I barely mentioned it to Lori and the next thing I know we have tickets for my birthday.

The concert was a Jazz Quartet.  This included Jack DeJohnette on the drums, Joe Lovano on the saxaphone and Leo Genovese on the piano and of course Esperanza Spalding on the bass.  It was fantastic.  It took a few minutes to get into it, very different from what I am used to but it was fantastic and after a brief search for the car we got home about midnight.  It was a very lovely birthday week wrap up.

Leave a Reply

«

