Operation boosting menopausal metabolism

I joined the gym again.  Although I had really good reasons for quitting, i.e. I wasn’t going and the money was just being wasted.  I went ahead and re-joined this week.

I was not having any luck motivating myself to work out at home.  I signed up for a half marathon this fall knowing that was something that would get me out the door.  For the first couple weeks I was building up time in running.  Trying a different method by building up time instead of distance.  However I find it easy to get distracted and once I’m home it is much harder to get back out and run.  Oh there was some stress tossed into the schedule and fully booked weekends of work that left me exhausted and needing to do things like laundry and grocery shopping in the evenings after work and basically finding excuses to not go out and run in the 90 degree weather.

After some evaluation I realized that the one thing different between this year and last is my exercise level, oh and one more year closer to menopause.  The ever slowing metabolism and lower activity means this marathon is going to be tough unless I do something different.  (Stress and boredom eating does not help this situation either)

So I joined the gym on Tuesday and have been taking my gym bag in the truck in the morning and going straight to the gym after work.  I am hoping planning on going straight to the gym every week night.  Running on the treadmill is harder for me than on the street, however with temperatures expected near 100 again next week, I am bound to get more runs in this way.

 

2 Responses to “Operation boosting menopausal metabolism”

  1. -br Says:

    You go girl. I have no doubt you can do anything you set your mind to, you’ve proven that time over time.

  2. Katherine Says:

    Probably healthier that you’re not running in those high temps anyway. You can focus more on form and running the right way and less on trying to stay alive as you try to outrun the heat.


Leave a Reply

