Beating the heat

We tried the advise to close up the house…..all the doors and windows in the morning until the sun goes down.

However the house is hotter! Much hotter. There is no as in zero insulation, so the stucco house just soaks up the sun. A few days ago I got home and inside the house was 98 degrees, 98. It was only 84 outside.

I opened the door dans windows, put the fan in the window to draw in the cooler air and went outside to sit in the back yard.

Yesterday Lori picked up these screens and put them up. When I got home tonight it had really made a difference.

20140802-052903-19743275.jpg

3 Responses to “Beating the heat”

  1. Flo Says:

    I have three smaller ones in my balcony. They do help. However this past few weeks we are living with the air conditioning on day and night. Between the hit and the humidity I am a wet noodle.

  2. Katherine Says:

    Well, I’m sorry the close-up-against-the-heat strategy didn’t work for you. Works up here, but it’s a different climate and I *do* have those triple-pane windows, which really help. The shades are a great idea.

    • V_Lo Says:

      I think with single pane windows and zero insulation in the walls it just acts like a closed up car parked in the sun.


Leave a Reply

