New Shoes

Don’t run a marathon in brand new shoes…….or so I’ve heard.

IMG_1836 I bought new Air Max shoes in August.  Giving me time to break them in before the marathon and still having low mileage on them so they have lots of support for the run.

Sometime on my long run last Sunday or the two runs I had this week the gel in my right shoe popped, or sprung a leak or somehow lost all the pressure.  It was feeling weird on my run Thursday but I didn’t really think anything of it.

I discovered the “flat tire” this morning.  Just before leaving to go downtown and sign up for the run tomorrow.

Because I can’t run in these and will be returning them.  I bought a ridiculously expensive brand new pair of Hoka shoes today at the expo.  Then I wore them all day around the expo, Costco and Trader Joes in an effort to “break them in” by tomorrow.

IMG_1837Mark, the man I’m running this thing with, guarantees me these are the shit.  That they are well cushioned and he would bring mole skin and blister stuff just in case.

I am a diehard Nike girl.  I have tried other types but always come back to Nike for running.  It is just an added bonus that the Nike chip in the shoe will talk to my iPod or iPhone and give me data on my runs.  There is nothing more motivating to me then the data.  I don’t know how or if I’ll be able to put the chip in these new shoes but I am running 13 miles in brand new shoes tomorrow.

We are meeting at the train station at 4:45 tomorrow morning.  If all goes well the shoes will be perfect and I will done and back on the train and home in time to lay on the couch for the afternoon football games.

 

3 Responses to “New Shoes”

  1. Della Says:

    Good luck today, hope the shoes work out great!

  2. Random Maladies | V-Lo's View Says:

    […] know if it was in the increased running and walking in the last month or if it was wearing the Hoka’s this weekend instead of my running shoes.  Heck it could have been far to many hours on the couch […]


Leave a Reply

