2005 Mazda RX8

We haven’t yet been home for a week.  Last week at this very time we were in the middle of a cut throat monopoly game that my brother Dale won. Won, like had every single property and hotels by the time we were all tossed out.

When I went to visit Albert an Allison last week it was both a shock and not a shock.  I knew she had been deteriorating and that she could no longer feed herself.  I also knew that Albert is a saint in every manner of the word and it was all just reinforced with seeing them.

Allison is pretty much a quadriplegic now.  Albert works full-time from home, both caring for Allison and a 40+ hour a week job.  He is able to work a full day because they have so many people from his church who volunteer to help.  There is someone with Allison during his work hours, so once he has her up, showered, dressed and fed someone is there to help.  They keep her company and feed her lunch and fetch her things.  When he has help Albert still has to take her to the bathroom and stuff during the day but he is able to work.  Once the work day is over and his help goes home he is 100% caregiver.

They have one LPN they are paying for two shifts a week so he can leave and go do things like pick up groceries and meds or run errands.  Allisons parents also help but it is a drive up from Olympia for them, although her mom does the drive all the time.  Right now Allison is cashing out her 401k from when she did work to be able to pay for additional care.  Albert also was selling his car.  He had someone coming to look at it the very next day.

His car sale did not go through, I had been texting and asking.  I had been thinking about buying a car.  I wanted a used car and wanted to stay under 10 grand.  Well one week later and an hour at the credit union this morning and we are buying Alberts “baby”.  Now the trick is to figure out how to get it down here.  We have a few ideas and will be looking into those here in the next week.   I think its a win – win.  I know Albert would rather not sell his car but he did say he was glad it was staying in the family and I really wanted to help.  He is getting what he asked for the car and I am getting a sweet little sports car with only 25,000 miles on it.

p.s.  If you happen to be coming to LA in the next month and want to drive it down….I’ll fly ya home.  🙂

 

3 Responses to “2005 Mazda RX8”

  1. Della Says:

    If you don’t figure something out in the next week or so let me know. Maybe Amber and I can bring it down since she’s off work right now 🙂

  2. Dale Says:

    I’m not sure what we’re doing for your birthday, but I was looking at coming down for that if you’re staying in that area, so could drive it down.

  3. Katherine Says:

    Wow, I’ve missed so much already. Congrats on the car and I can’t wait to see it. Will call soon.


Leave a Reply

