Fitting it all in

Life is busy.  Life is busy and I don’t even have children or for that matter parents to take care of.  Just little ole me.  You think it would be easier to carve one of the twenty-four hours out of the day to work out.

I have not been able to sustain a regular work out routine since the “Great Christmas Break of ’14”.  After we got back home I was out of the routine of heading to the gym right after work.  I would load up the gym bag every morning but was only making it to the actual gym a couple of times a week.

There were the usual distractions of my own chores and ongoing to do list but there was also a couple of weekends of company in town.  Company that I didn’t really want to see the overgrown yard so I worked in the yard in the evenings instead of gym.

And yes, all of those are excuses!  Excuses are so easy to find.  Dinner out with Lori or friends would usually toss Friday’s workout slot out the window.   Having to work late and therefore not heading to the gym at 4:30 in the afternoon and getting there before the after work rush was another easy and accessible excuse

Since I would rather work out in the mornings for several reasons, last week I decided I would try getting up at 4:30 AM and go to the gym.  This gives me the time to get there and back and still leaves a little over an hour to work out.  I get back home about 6:00, when my alarm to get up goes off.

I managed all of last week to get up at that time.  Saturday was tiling/painting and darn it I’m counting it as my workout and Sunday Lori and I went for our walk.

This week started yesterday and I was up again at 4:30 and off to the gym.  Today however, the alarm went off at 4:30 and I dozed for about 7 minutes and then decided “nope, not today”  I slept until 6:00 and got almost 8 hours of sleep.

I’m counting it as a rest day.  I thought about trying to go to the gym after work instead but I found plenty of excuses not to go!  So I guess I have found the extra 90 minutes I need to carve out of the day, I took it from the sleep time bank.

Leave a Reply

