Falconry Class @ Sky Falconry, Alpine CA

A little history on today’s adventure.  Sometime at the beginning of February I got a calendar invite from Lori for a “date” today.  I of course accepted it.  Later when I asked all I was told was it was a surprise.

Insert two months of guests in town, projects, work and school without much thought about it.  Then this week the day was upon us.  My clues were, we had to leave at 6:00 a.m.  I needed to dress for a hike, including a hat.

We were up at 5:00, showered, dressed and on the road.  We got down to San Diego with time to spare so we stopped for breakfast.  That’s when I found out we couldn’t be early either.

Over breakfast Lori finally told me we were going for a Falconry Class at Sky Falconry!  It was so awesome.  Being so close to the hawks.  A Red Tail (my personal favorite hawk) that we didn’t work with but I got amazing photos of her.  Also this Harris hawk that we all worked with the gloves and called it and I fed a piece of quail to and he caught it.  Lori took my camera and got these photos of me that I strung together to try to capture the “flight” look.

We learned so much about the history of Falconry.  The conservation of all the raptor birds.  Just how many are killed every year by things like WIND TURBINES that was very surprising!

DSC_0040 DSC_0097 DSC_0107 DSC_0068 DSC_0060

5 Responses to “Falconry Class @ Sky Falconry, Alpine CA”

  1. Della Says:

    What a great surprise!!!

  2. Taylor Says:

    Way cool !

  3. Briana Says:

    AWESOME!!! Absolutely amazing!

  4. Katherine Says:

    So cool! What a lovely gift from Lori. Very happy for both of you.

  5. Hawk Walk | V-Lo's View Says:

    […] have blogged about Sky Falconry before.  Lori had given me a hawk class for my birthday a couple years ago.  […]


Leave a Reply

