Standard Time

It’s that time of the year, heading back to five months of standard time.  I don’t particularly care one way or the other but I do know the hour lost in Spring in a lot more jarring then when we get it back in Fall.

Here is what does bug me about either event; it’s all of the calculating my brain does the evening before, the day of and sometimes into the next day.

Before bed on Saturday I’m thinking “ok so it’s 11 (really 10) so if I sleep for my usual 7 hours its going to be 6:00 (really 7 – or is it really 6)”  When I woke up in the middle of the night I was trying to decided what time it “really was”.

The clocks in the house were all changed and I was on my way to the hospital to do a project for the part-time job and my car clock was at 10:00 a.m and I am thinking well its really only 9:00 let me fix that clock, but yesterday it would already be 10:00.  I spin around on what time it “feels” like or what time it “really is.”

No matter how many times I tell my self it doesn’t matter I still do it all day.  Even while leaving Target later in the day I was thinking “it must be later (I was timing my chores around football) because of the light – oh wait we changed time”  Now it actually took me longer to type that sentence then to think it.

But again when getting ready for bed I start to calculate again the “new/vs/real” time.  WHAT DOES IT MATTER??? Seriously! Why waste so much brain time on it, and now an entire blog even.

On a funnier note, my co-worker sent me this earlier in the week when we were discussing daylight saving time.

DAYLIGHT-SAVINGS-TIME

2 Responses to “Standard Time”

  1. salpal1 Says:

    isn’t it awful to get our brains and bodies around an unnecessary thing? We were exhausted and ready for bed far too early last night, and my bladder got me up at the same time it always does this morning, BUT that was an hour earlier than I really had to get up. It will take me until March to adjust…

  2. Linda Middlebrooks Says:

    Tee hee hee! Love this “blog”. I have decided to just look at my phone when I wake up. Of course it is already done for us on our phones. Now I think I will worry about the phones in Arizona!!! Do the phone people know they do not change time? How will they know if you live in Arizona or are just visiting? ??????? How about Hawaii? I think I will worry about that all day.


Leave a Reply

