Audio (Book)

I do love listening to audio books on my commute.  The only problem is I lose track of NPR and the goings on in the world when I am engrossed in a book, sometimes that is good because the goings on can be quite depressing.

When I am reading a book, I tend to flip back to pages I have read in the past.  To remember a character or conversation.  I am not a skimmer, I tend to read every word and although not a super slow reader I am not a speed reader either.

One issue with the audio book, is if I am distracted by say some turkey who cut me off or very busy traffic that needs all of my attention, the book just keeps playing on and I miss little bits.

Well I enjoyed this fictional historical account of the real Sarajevo Haggada that when disc twelve was complete, I started right back on disc one and listened to the entire book again.

I love historical fiction.  The joy of this audio book included the voices and accents of the reader.  The main character is an Australian book conservationist and the telling of the centuries of this books history and all of the tragic periods it survived including the Spanish inquisition and the Holocaust.  Edwina Wren’s reading of the book was so enjoyable I listened to it twice through in a row.

One benefit is I got all the little nuances I had missed because of driving, it was just like being able to flip back in the book like I were reading it.  However if I had read it, I would not have nailed the Aussie accent that is now stuck in my head!

IMG_3216

One Response to “Audio (Book)”

  1. Katherine Says:

    Did you check out audible.com?


Leave a Reply

