Habitual Creature

I am a creature of habit.  I usually work from 2:00 in the afternoon to 10:30 at night.  Now it varies a little on end of shift time if we are busy or in peak but generally I can count on leaving about 10:30 every night.

What this means is I am home about 11:30 pm (unless there is a traffic jam, which can and does happen in LA at that hour) and can be in bed by midnight.

I am generally up by 7:30-8:00 at the latest and have some time in the morning before heading out the door to my workout that starts at 9:00.

By the time I’m done with my workout I have enough time to go to the grocery store OR go out to breakfast with Lori OR wash my car and run other small errands.  I need to have my dinner made/packed and in the shower by noon so I can get out of the house by 12:45 or so to ensure I am clocked in and at my desk at 2:00.

However, my co-worker is on vacation part of last week and all of this week.  That means I don’t start work until 4:00 pm and get off work at 12:30 a.m.

Needless to say, I have not worked out all week (I did manage grocery shopping.)  I have not slept well or had enough sleep. I didn’t get home and in bed until 3:00 a.m. this morning, I was up at 6:00 a.m. when Lori was leaving for class to move my car into the driveway as it is street sweeping day and to say “see you tomorrow” to her.  Went back to bed and slept until noon.   NOON.

I actually do not know how I slept until noon.  I have never been a late sleeper, 8:00 a.m. is late for me even on weekends and all of my years on this and similar shifts.  I am a morning person and like having my “free” time before work.

I am on call all weekend (3-day weekend) and I already have two clients that will be running edits and probably clearing to print.  I am really hoping that by Tuesday I can get back to my lovely, boring, predictable, habitual routine.  Cause I’m getting cranky!

Leave a Reply

