Overachiever

It doesn’t sound like a slight does it?  You are such an overachiever.

I won’t even go into the incident tonight that led to my being called an overachiever.  But it is not the first time.  It is never said in a positive “oh wow you’re great” sorta way.  It is usually said in a “you’re making me look bad” kind of way.

It just struck me tonight, why do we rate ourselves on the achievements, looks, success and happiness of others.   And why when someone is doing better than yourself (or that happens to be your perception) do we feel the need to put them down or make comments that belittle them?

 

7 Responses to “Overachiever”

  1. Taylor Says:

    Ugh, I can relate. I’ve also been called a brown noder a few times. The only thing I can think is that they feel like they could have done better and somehow like you said to belittle you, makes them feel better about not living up to their own potential. Don’t let anyone get you down, you are fantastic and just an achiever! I’m proud of you.

  2. -br Says:

    Petty people say snarky comments like that. Those that know and love you take great joy in your many accomplishments, are aware how much effort and heart you put into everything you do and that you’re not one to dwell or wallow in struggles you fix things.

  3. Katherine Says:

    People say it because 1) they are insecure about their own performance or achievements and are afraid they will suffer if compared to you, or 2) they are trying to pay a compliment but don’t know how. Neither are faults of yours. The older I get, the more I am able to accept that very, very little of what anyone does or says is because of me. Peoples opinions are reflections of themselves in one way or another, and my opinion of me ends up being one of a small handful of opinions that count. Assuming I’m on your short list of people’s opinions that count, I offer this: your level of achievement, whether low or high on any particular day, is exactly what it needs to be for that particular day. You’ve traveled a beautiful road in your life and I’m grateful to be on it with you.

    • V_Lo Says:

      I too am grateful to be on this road with you!

      I usually don’t take peoples opinions of me to heart. This particular one was even done with a laugh and “joke” What it stirred was the many, many times I’ve been called this. Even had a dear friend whom I love buy me a T-shirt that said it.

      I do know it is about them, but hey I’m a rule follower AND I like to get shit done!

      XOXO

  4. Turkey | V-Lo's View Says:

    […] Overachiever […]


Leave a Reply

