Naming Conventions

I probably have at least one post a month that is titled or at least starts out titled Weekend Update.  That really leaves me no where to go except, guess what we did this weekend!

I was on call this last weekend, however our boss has re-designed the weekend coverage so that we have some off hours on our on-call weekends.  The trade off is we cover more sites.  So instead of being on-call from 7:00 a.m. Saturday morning to 11:00 p.m. Sunday night for Southern California.  I was on call from 7:00 p.m. Saturday night to 7:00 a.m. Sunday morning and then again from 3:00 p.m. Sunday to 11:0o.pm and I was covering both Northern and Southern California.

I have to say that for my first time up with this format it wasn’t that bad.  A co-worker in Palo Alto was on call for the first shifts and we work well together so hand off of jobs was smooth.

This also meant I was able to get some other things crammed into the off shift hours.  Saturday we woke and went to Tai Chi class, then rushed to return my rental car from last week and go sign paperwork and pick up my new Subaru.

img_1058

We then picked up pizza and met my brother at our house for football.   He was there before us and had the game going when we walked in.  Unfortunately we lost and are out of the playoffs this year.  We did have a good visit and yummy veggie pizza.  Since there were a few hours before I had to be around my computer so we managed to make it out grocery shopping.  All in all a pretty productive day for an on-call day.

Sunday was pretty good too.  I did have to be on at 3:00 p.m. so there wasn’t as much time.  However we got quite a bit done.  Lori’s friend Jan came by early on Sunday and we all went to breakfast, of course taking my new very off-gassy car.  When we were done with that it was still early and with so many projects around the house we chose to go to a matinee of “Hidden Figures” which was fabulous and needs an entire post of its own.  But because I can’t be as eloquent as many of the reviews out there all I can add is, Go See It!

We stopped at DSW after and I picked up a couple pair of shoes for work.  We got home with just enough time for me to start a stew before needing to be “on” for work.

Nothing got done in the yard however.  Lori petitioned for us to finish off the mosaic on the other side of the driveway and I petitioned to put it off until morning so I could get some house chores done.  Sweeping and vacuuming happened and the kitchen started before work sidetracked me.  But a productive day.

img_1071

This morning before work however we managed to get the last of the broken tile mosaic in.  We didn’t have any rain today but expect more later in the week so this was the perfect day.  As for the rain, it too deserves its own post, but I will just say we have received more rain this “year” then all of last year and we are only two weeks in.  It is fabulous and the weeds are loving it!  So is my purple Cauliflower this will be on tomorrows menu.  The rain is however not being so kind to my tomato plant.  It is seriously leaning, the tomatoes on it are getting pretty big because of all the rain but the whole plant is about to un-root itself.

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Naming Conventions”

  1. Katherine Says:

    Congrats on the new car!


Leave a Reply

