Neighborhood is shaking up

Where to start….first by acknowledging I haven’t blogged in about 10 days.  There just isn’t anything I want to blog about I guess.  Work is busy as peak has started.  The gym is fabulous and helps me de-stress.  The rain keeps coming, which is great, and not so great all at the same time.  The rest of the world is sad, scary, disgusting…pick an adjective.

It was a gorgeous 80 degrees today and when I got home from the gym I had about 30 minutes before I needed to be in the shower so decided to  put in 20 minutes worth of weeding because HOLY HECK there are a lot of weeds.  My plan is 20 minutes a day and by the end of the week I have a couple of hours of weeding done.

Well as I finished and was putting the garbage and yard waste bins out for tomorrow my neighbors pulled up.  They are brother and sister.  She is 63 years old and works the night shift as a nurse (she moved in permanently a year ago when their mom died.)  He is 59 and mentally disabled.  We keep our eye out for him when no one is around and they bring us cookies at Christmas and we do the same.

She walked over and said “well you wont be seeing us around here anymore.”  It seems their rent went up $450.00 to reach $2250 for a place that has sewer problems, mold problems and the owners who are related to them will not fix anything.

In our conversation, which went way over my available time limit that I had to work with, they also told me that the entire block was closed off yesterday.  Cops overhead and police driving around the neighborhood with megaphones to lock doors and windows and stay inside.  We were both at work at that time, but yikes.

They are moving up the street aways to a retirement home.  Smaller, cheaper and no yard work.  They are excited to be able to use the sink and laundry at the same time and to be able to put toilet paper in the toilet.   All of this about the one year anniversary of their mom dying followed by their 13month old niece the very next day.

 

One Response to “Neighborhood is shaking up”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Oh what a sad story! Hopefully they will be able to enjoy life in the new place, and hopefully you will get great new neighbors.


Leave a Reply

