Clams

Tonight I made clams for dinner (I should say last night, I am blogging this while working.)  While out shopping there were fresh clams from a farm in Shelton Washington.  I know this farmer from the Des Moines Farmers market, so I picked them up.

I actually pulled out my sketch book from Italy last Summer where I took notes during one of the cooking classes.  There were notes but certainly not a recipe so I was winging it.  I soaked them all in salt water so they would release any sand.  I sautéed garlic and shallots in olive oil and added the clams and white wine and panko because I didn’t have bread crumbs.

Toasted up some baguette and rubbed it with garlic.  Yum!

There was however way to much for the two of us!  When we were done, I took the rest of the clams out of their shells and froze them with the rest of the broth.  Clam Chowder in our future!

2 Responses to “Clams”

  1. Taylor Says:

    Looks delicious, I’d love to see your notes!

  2. Working from home | V-Lo's View Says:

    […] then had time to make some clam chowder.  I had frozen broth and clams from earlier in the year.  We got home with enough time for me to get the soup started and could […]


Leave a Reply

