I have 17 minutes….

The last week has been crazy.  Where do I start…  I have about 17 minutes before my blueline is up for review.

Lets see….Last week, Friday Lori bought a beautiful sculpture from a student at school.  She knew of the piece because she was asked to judge the competition last month.  It is a welded phoenix rising from the flames.  Looks kind of like a heron.  It is nearly impossible to get a good shot of it for the blog.

Saturday we went out to Calimesa for a maintenance day.  Things like cleaning out the last tool shed we hadn’t dealt with.  Making a new cover for the crawl space that had rotted out.  Hanging smoke alarms and broken shower parts and mounting the baby monitor because baby can stand and grab it now.

We got home late and were both exhausted from the week.  My work was/is busy and Lori had finals last week so we were showered and asleep pretty quick.

Sunday Lori had her own finals that were due by midnight and she worked straight through from 7:00 a.m until about 3:30.  I brought food and beverages but mostly ran errands to stay out of her way.  Hardware store, dry cleaner, car wash, groceries and did things like laundry and cleaning.  We had dinner with our friend Jan for her birthday at 6:00 and then the weekend was over.

This week,  It feels like one long day to me, is Spring break for Lori.  I have been working in a different office and have had clients in all week, lots of long hours.  In thinking back I can’t even tell you what Monday held.  Lori did get some yard work started and refreshed the oasis after I left for work.

Tuesday two of her students came and weeded.  Cut way back the plants in the front yard that had grown out of control.  I grilled chicken and burgers and made potato salad to feed them all.  Did my own weeding in the back and left them all still working.  The yard looks so different.  Great and different.

Wednesday, was that just yesterday, we went for a walk at Eldorado, stopped at the bank and pet food store, we also got Lori’s car washed and then I was off to work again.

Today one of the students was back at 8:00, he brought his truck and trailer and started off the morning cutting one big branch off the tree in the front yard.  Then we all moved to the back yard.  I did run to home Depot and picked up 21 more 16×16 bricks to finish the little patio Lori started on Monday with the bricks we were repurposing from the front.

Tomorrow is Friday, I may have to be in early.  My clients were supposed to be done tonight but that is not the case.  They are back tomorrow and its also the peak filing deadline.  Saturday which is already booked can’t come soon enough.  At least the yard work is all caught up and it was so worth the money to hire the students for help!  Sunday I may just sit in the yard and take it all in.

Blueline is up….gotta go, no time to proofread, but here are a few random pictures.

Leave a Reply

