Post Removal

I recently accepted a Facebook invite from my step sister.  We don’t see eye to eye on a lot of things but we are still family. 

I tend to just ignore a lot of what she posts. But after today’s horrific events she shared this meme from Trumps page I just had to respond. 

So I responded with the following.   Only to have here delete the whole thing a short time later:

You’re kidding right.

If the issue was only so elementary, so simple that we could boil it down to “this hasn’t happened to anyone I know therefore it no longer exists.” Let’s not forget I am JUST younger then the end of segregation.

White privilege is alive and thriving. WE have lots of privilege just because our skin is white. I do not fear being pulled over for speeding and losing my life because of it. I don’t even fear being pulled over just because my skin color automatically makes me a suspect and more than that simply guilty just because.

We are not expected to change the way we talk, dress, shop, travel or simply exist. These factors alone afford me, you, whites more opportunities. With more opportunities comes more frequent, or easier success. With more success perpetuates the “race” differences that whites are better than blacks.

We are not better. They are not better. We are all Human and all equal, but until another 100 or so years go by and hopefully by then things are more equal we (WHITES) must fight for the equality of all.

Silence equals approval.  I do not approve. 

2 Responses to “Post Removal”

  1. salpal1 Says:

    Good for you!

    I am always amazed at the people who deny that they experience any privilege due to being white. I know that if one doesn’t stop to think about it, it is easy to miss. Which fact alone tells me that it exists. They don’t; go looking for it, MAYBE, but they sure do get the benefit of it every day. We have to stop and think and comment and question and STAND UP.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Well stated!


Leave a Reply

