News and look cute baby

The situation in Texas is horrible.  I can’t imagine being one of the thousands without shelter, without clean water, food, medicine, not knowing where family or pets are, without an income source for now and the foreseeable future.

Now there is another hurricane building in the Atlantic, it is at least a week away from possible landfall and a lot can happen in a week.  My fingers are crossed that it turns and heads back out.

President Trump is making lots of threats.  Besides nuclear warfare with North Korea now the possible elimination of DACA.  I remember when Obama was passing it and lots of So Cal folks were leery of signing up because as soon as they did there would be a record and address and if something exactly like what is being threatened happens they could just be rounded up.

There is so much more, Trans-gender ban, the increasing racist alt right marches,  tax cuts for the wealthiest, pay cuts for current government employees.  So much negative headlines that overshadowing other important things.

I woke up at 3a.m. after 2.5 hours of sleep and could not get back to sleep, thinking about how all the boat rescues reminded me of the movie Dunkirk I saw recently.  I ended up watching “Call the midwife” on my iPad until after 5:00 a.m. because at least those tragedies are fiction.  In hindsight I should have gotten up and done the laundry or one of the many things I wanted to get done today but it was just too darn hot.  It was 109 when I left for work, there was no yard work, errands or laundry done today.

All in all my current situation is pretty low-key.  I have a good paying job, good health, family is doing well for the most part (step sister in Houston did not flood).  This was an expensive month but I at least have a job to pay for it.  Compared to the people and destruction in Houston my “expensive” month is minuscule.

We got a new washer and dryer for the rental house my nieces are in.  After two trips from Sears and two trips from a local plumber all is set up, hauled off and they are up and working, quiet and energy/water efficient.   I asked for photos when it was all set up.  The cute baby is the bonus!

IMG_2624

IMG_2626

2 Responses to “News and look cute baby”

  1. Linda M. Says:

    Oh my gosh, she is so cute — and the washer & dryer look pretty good, too.

  2. canyon cottage Says:

    Just checking in! Saw your comment, so I did a quick update. So nice to see you posting so frequently. ~Annie


Leave a Reply

