Schedules

I may have mentioned being a guinea pig client for a friend getting her health coaching license.  This includes a weekly call on Thursday’s to go over the week, report in on what she had me focus on the week before and what to work on for the next week.

We are both very similar in our approaches to food and fitness so it’s a pretty good match.  Last week she wanted me to focus on water.  What happened however is before she could tell me to track it she asked me how much I drank a day.  When I calculated out the water and tea I was WELL above the amount she wanted to ensure I was getting.  So we left the call without anything solid to work on.

I felt bad because I am supposed to be helping her out and in return getting help myself.  So today toward the end of the call she asked if there was anything I needed help with.  I said figuring out in my schedule where to fit in my workouts.

I do love going to the gym.  I just have a job and a commute and I do like to sleep every night.  There is also taking care of the house, the laundry, grocery shopping, cooking, random errands and I particularly like spending any spare time that Lori may have hanging out with her.

The Coaches advise today was start with a schedule.  Color code the work hours, commute hours, sleep hours and see what is left for working out and where it makes sense to fit it in.

Capture

So I have between 11:30 at night when I get home and midnight or so when I go to bed.  I am usually changing and brushing my teeth and such.  Also the hours between getting up 8a.m. and noon when I have to be in the shower to get ready for work.

Now during those four hours I make breakfast, make and pack lunch and dinner for work.  Also other random errands like grocery shopping, going to the dry clearer, post office,  random errands or chores or washing the car.  Not to mention the never list of projects we constantly have going.

Needless to say I am no closer to figuring out how to make it a priority in those four hours.  My best guess right now is to not get so much sleep.  I mean really who needs 8 hours a day.  But I do have a fun new table however.

2 Responses to “Schedules”

  1. salpal1 Says:

    It is very hard to fit everything in the short “awake” time. I had a conversation with my MD this morning on that very topic. She said new studies are showing that ten minutes of hard and fast is as good as a much longer time of slow and steady. Easier to fit in the day, harder to enjoy!

  2. Katherine Says:

    Weighing in as a champion of sleep here. There’s so much research that says how important sleep is, and an overly tired body is more at risk of injury during workouts, right? I vote for either shorter workouts daily, or prioritizing longer workouts every other day with maybe one of those 20 minute refreshers on the alternate days? It’s hard. I have a more flexible workday schedule than you and still I can fit in only work, decent meals, my exercise/stretching, and sleep. I’ve become a very boring person during the week.


Leave a comment