Hodge Podge

Its been well over a week since I even thought about blogging.  And although life seems super busy, there hasn’t been much to report.

The date has been set for my step-dad’s memorial service.  This has been a year-long event.  He passed last Thanksgiving but there was a ton of stuff to deal with and sell his house and get through probate.  Now I am not taking credit for any of that work, my sister has taken the brunt of all of those tasks, physical and emotional.  My involvement was monetary and being a venting / sounding board.

But now a road trip next week up to Washington.  Eighteen hours in a van with my sister, nieces and great-niece.  Hilarity will ensue I am sure.  We have rented a house for the time we are there which will make life with the baby a bit easier.

Besides planning that trip which all I can say is it’s a good thing we have an unlimited text plan, school started this week.  So we are sliding back into the usual routine.  Lori has multiple classes a day on three days and a combo of classes and committee meetings on the others.  She is asleep when I get home which is now always after midnight, or 1:30am if I go to the gym.  I see her briefly in the morning while she is getting ready for work and I try to get breakfast made for her.  Back to the usual schedule of prepping food that she might want to eat when she gets home, except it is so late the likelihood is low.

We spent some time this last weekend working in the back yard again.  Weeding the back and putting down cardboard to put the gravel on.  I moved a bag of gravel on Monday, one on Tuesday and one today to fill in where we had been working.  The end of the gravel project (at least for the back) is near.

One Response to “Hodge Podge”

  1. salpal1 Says:

    The schedule sounds awful, but the yard looks great!

    The trip north will be fun and sad in so many ways. Hope it goes as well as it possibly can.


Leave a comment