Business trip with a side of visiting

I flew into Seattle on Sunday.  I landing at 5:15 pm and needed to be at a meeting at 6:40 downtown Seattle.  By the time I got off the plane, through the airport and on the light rail it was 5:50 (I was hustling through the airport).  While on the train I sent out a Facebook post that I was in-town and working overnight for a few days but anyone who could meet me mid-day on Monday or Tuesday to contact me.

I felt very loved by the time I got off the train and already had coffee set up with my brother at 7:00 a.m. and a few other conversations in the works on timing for possible visits.

I reached the hotel at 6:30, checked in, dropped my luggage and met the group in the lobby at 6:45.  We all walked up to Benihana for dinner and talk about the upcoming week.

IMG_3653

Once I actually got to my room it was very nice.  The view out my window is very familiar as I am looking exactly at the building I used to work in for a decade.   Unpacked my work clothes and fell asleep which was good.

IMG_3655

The morning started early with coffee across the street at 7:00 a.m. with my brother.  We visited for an hour before he was off to work.  I walked around downtown for an hour before meeting my dear friend Linda at 9:00.  We found a café and had more coffee and got a little caught up on the goings on in each others lives.  I departed Linda as she headed to take the bus back to Renton and I met up with Tonya for her lunch break.  She was the easiest to meet up with since she works downtown.

I did try to nap after that for a few hours before my friend Albert stopped by for more coffee and visits.  I am honored by everyone who took the time and energy out of their lives to come see me on short notice.

It is currently 1:00 a.m.  I still have clients in and am waiting on edits and still have half of my 12-hour shift to go.  Luckily for me I see a few more friends tomorrow (after I get some sleep in the morning).

One Response to “Business trip with a side of visiting”

  1. Linda M. Says:

    Oh I was the honored one to have you invite me to meet you when you are so busy! It was great fun! And I am glad you got the zebra. I think it was the best.
    Have a safe trip home (and you were the first one to tell me about the train — Mark is schedule to drive to Portland and then back by train — it will surely be a longer trip than he planned!


Leave a comment