New Years Quiz

Linda at All & Sundry put up this quiz the last couple years and although I had a lot of fun reading other peoples answers I did not fill it out those years.  However for lack of any blog topic I am filling it out now.  Feel free to add yours  into my  comments or add link in comments to your blog.  You can copy the questions from here without my answers if that makes it easier.

New Years Quiz 2009 

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?
Walked a ½ marathon (13.1 miles); test driving my own business.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
Didn’t say “no” as much I set out to, lost some weight but not as much as I set out to.  Maybe I’ll just start over.
I do plan on running the 1/2 marathon in June this year.  Also reading books and planning bakery business.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Tracy and Harry had a baby girl in January.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Not in 2008, Thank God.

5. What countries did you visit?
None.  No travel this year.

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?
Stability; more time to garden and more time to read.

7. What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
January 31st – co-workers laid off; April 3 – I got laid off; May 27th – start new job.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Completing ½ Marathon.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Not really “My” failure but it sure felt like it….being laid off.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
No

11. What was the best thing you bought?
Lumber for my deck, airfare.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
Katherines courageous trip to see her father.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
New passive aggressive boss.  George W

14. Where did most of your money go?
Mortgage, bills.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Cake decorating class; Marathon; weekend to Monetary Bay.

16. What song will always remind you of 2008?
I can’t think of any…..way too much good music to choose from. 

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? sadder
b) thinner or fatter? thinner
c) richer or poorer?  poorer

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Spent more time on projects; Seen Chari more.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Complaining about my stupid job

20. How did you spend Christmas?
Alone, snowed in, cleaned carpet.

21. Did you fall in love in 2008?
Just more in love.

22. What was your favorite TV program?
Greys Anatomy

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Don’t hate anyone.

24. What was the best book you read?
So many books, the only one coming to mind however is Tales of a Female Nomad

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Oh thats tough:  Duffy, Amy, Sia, Vicci.

26. What did you want and get?
Built my deck.  Lots of time in the pool this summer.

27. What did you want and not get?
Hillary as president.

28. What was your favorite film of this year?
I didn’t see too many films this year, but both Hancock and Iron Man surprised me.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
Went to dinner with Katherine and Mary; 43.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Not losing my job and 5 weeks a year of vacation, oh and the 18.5% pay cut.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?
Yawn, suit for work, workout clothes.  I need some in between attire.

32. What kept you sane?
Missy, Rian, Reed, Guiness, Jaq, Sophie, Ashley, Lil’ Sophie, Frank, Paddles, Panda, Lila, Henry, Doodle, Bently
(dogs in my life this year) and a new dog Riblet that I havn’t got to meet yet.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
I don’t really fancy public figures but would have to say Barak Obama just for his poise.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?
Presidential election.

35. Who did you miss?
My mom, every day.

36. Who was the best new person you met?
Amy at work.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008.
People stop listening when you complain a lot.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
As hard as you might try
You can not let me down
Cause I’m already
Lying on the ground

8 Responses to “New Years Quiz”

  1. Katherine Says:

    1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?
    Went to Texas to visit my paternal unit and meet a 26 y/o niece for the first time.

    2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
    I’m not sure I made any formal ones.

    3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
    Nope.

    4. Did anyone close to you die?
    Nope, thank goodness.

    5. What countries did you visit?
    Mexico

    6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?
    Romantic love

    7. What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
    I’m not very good about remembering dates–I always have to ask Valria. November 4th rocked it hard though.

    8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
    Achieving some sort of reconciliation with my father and his impact on my life.

    9. What was your biggest failure?
    Not making the romantic love thing happen.

    10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
    Not any new ones, thank goodness.

    11. What was the best thing you bought?
    The lunches, dinners, drinks, and other playtimes with my friends. Airline tickets.

    12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
    Valria’s, for sticking it out through a really tough year, and every single American who helped elect Barack Obama.

    13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
    The shrub and all his minions.

    14. Where did most of your money go?
    Mortgage/home improvements, savings, travel.

    15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
    Three days at a spa outside Austin, Texas and the presidential election.

    16. What song will always remind you of 2008?
    The one with different artists saying lines of Obama’s speech mixed with music. (16a. What did you lose this year? My memory.)

    17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
    a) happier or sadder? Happier
    b) thinner or fatter? ‘Bout the same.
    c) richer or poorer? Richer

    18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
    Kissing and everything else that follows.

    19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
    Worrying. Accomodating sciatica.

    20. How did you spend Christmas?
    Alone, snowed in, reading and watching TV. Blech. Do-over please.

    21. Did you fall in love in 2008?
    NO, DAMMIT.

    22. What was your favorite TV program?
    Tie: Grey’s Anatomy and Top Chef.

    23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
    I hate the word hate.

    24. What was the best book you read?
    Eat, Pray, Love. Pillars of the Earth was good too.

    25. What was your greatest musical discovery?
    I’m not exactly the first climber to the summit in this area. Hmm. Probably Michael Ramos (Charanga Cakewalk).

    26. What did you want and get?
    The love and support of my friends. Harness boots.

    27. What did you want and not get?
    Romantic love (see a theme here?)

    28. What was your favorite film of this year?
    Does it have to be a new film? The film I enjoyed repeatedly this year was the version of Pride and Prejudice directed by Joe Wright. I have a new and deep appreciation for Joe’s work.

    29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
    Um, Valria? What did I do? I’m 45 and can’t remember.

    30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
    Once again, romantic love.

    31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?
    Ha ha ha. “Personal fashion concept.” That’s funny.

    32. What kept you sane?
    Sophie. When she wasn’t driving me crazy.

    33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
    Barack Obama.

    34. What political issue stirred you the most?
    The presidential election.

    35. Who did you miss?
    The man I’ve never met.

    36. Who was the best new person you met?
    Hmm. I’m not meeting enough new people. I guess Dogwalker.

    37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008.
    To balance my ambition and competitive nature with time to just exist and be open to receiving what the world has planned for me. Still working that one out.

    38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
    I’m terrible at remembering song lyrics!

    But I’ll leave you with these two, which are in my head lately:

    Climb every mountain, search high and low
    Follow every by way, every path you know
    Climb every mountain, ford every stream
    Follow every rainbow, till you find your dream

    and

    She yodeled back
    To the lonely goatherd
    Ho-de-lay-ho-de-lay
    Ho-de-loo.

    I know, sappy. But there they are.

  2. V-Lo Says:

    Thanks for playing Katherine…..
    For your birthday we had a pool party at the Garage and a bunch of your friends came and ate and drank and played pool. It was a lot of fun. (Actually on your birthday which was a Friday)….I know, I’m weird.

  3. Here comes another New Year « V-Lo’s View Says:

    […] December 29, 2009 — V-Lo Yep it’s that time again.  I had to check back here to see if I made any resolutions this year.  That would indicate that either my memory is toast […]

  4. New Year Quiz « V-Lo’s View Says:

    […] Year Quiz December 30, 2009 — V-Lo It’s that time of year again.  Here is the quiz from last year.  Copy this years,  fill it out in your own blog or Facebook, just put a link in […]

  5. New Years Quiz: 2010 « V-Lo’s View Says:

    […] that time of year again.  Here is the quiz from last two years. 2008, 2009.  Copy this years,  fill it out in your own blog or Facebook, just put a link in my […]

  6. New Years Quiz 2011 « V-Lo’s View Says:

    […] decade due to hormonal shifts in my make up.   Here are the quiz’s from last few years. 2008, 2009 and 2010.  Copy this years,  fill it out in your own blog or Facebook, just put a link in […]

  7. New Years Quiz 2012 « V-Lo's View Says:

    […] entire decade due to hormonal shifts in my make up.   Here are the quiz’s from last four years. 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011.  Copy this years,  fill it out in your own blog or Facebook, just put a […]

  8. New Years Quiz 2013 | V-Lo's View Says:

    […] way to recap the year in silly little questions.   Here are the quiz links from last five years. 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012.  Copy this years,  fill it out in your own blog or Facebook, just […]


Leave a comment